41.5 F
Pagosa Springs
Tuesday, October 3, 2023

Sixth Judicial District announces District Court vacancy

By Jon Sarche
Colorado Judicial Department

The Sixth Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet via video conference on Feb. 14, 2022, to interview and select nominees for appointment by the governor to the office of district judge for the Sixth Judicial District (Archuleta, La Plata and San Juan counties). The vacancy will be created by the retirement of the Hon. William L. Herringer. The vacancy will occur on March 9, 2022.

To be eligible, the applicant must be a qualified elector of the Sixth Judicial District at the time of investiture and must have been admitted to the practice of law in Colorado for five years. The current annual salary for this position is $178,452. The initial term of office of a district judge is a provisional term of two years; thereafter, the incumbent district judge, if approved by the voters, has a term of six years.

Application forms are available from the office of the ex officio chair of the nominating commission, Justice Carlos A. Samour Jr., 2 E. 14th Ave., Denver, CO 80203; and the office of the court executive, Eric Hogue, 1060 E. Second Ave., Durango, CO 81301. Applications also are available on the court’s home page at: http://www.courts.state.co.us/Careers/Judge.cfm.

The completed application must be emailed to the address listed in the instructions below no later than 4 p.m. on Jan. 20, 2022. Late applications will not be considered. Any person wishing to suggest a candidate to fill the vacancy may do so by letter to be submitted to any member of the nominating commission, with a copy to the ex officio chair, no later than 4 p.m. on Jan. 13, 2022. Under the rules of the Sixth Judicial District Judicial Nominating Commission, names of the applicants shall be made public once the application period is closed.

The members of the nominating commission for the Sixth Judicial District are: Kathryn Steelman, Ingrid Alt, Barrie Hedges Newberger King, James Cross and Paul DeBell, of Durango; Albert Northrop, of Pagosa Springs; and John Wright, of Silverton.

 Contact information for the nominating commission member:

• Steelman, ksteelmanlaw@gmail.com.

• Northrop, pagosacowboy@gmail.com.

• Alt, ialt@gmalawyers.com.

• Wright, wrightjo@frontier.net.

• Hedges Newberger King, barrie@newbergerkinglaw.com.

• Cross, cross_j@fortlewis.edu.

• DeBell, padebell@fortlewis.edu.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Upcoming Events

Latest Articles