Environmental Scholarship Awards

SUN photo/Avery Martinez

The Archuleta County Board of County Commissioners presents students with the annual Environmental Scholarship Awards Tuesday afternoon. The scholarship funds are generated by the aluminum cans brought by the community to the recycling center, and students write essays to compete for the scholarships. Those who won awards along with commissioners from left to right are, front row, Kimberly Armendariz, Hailey Rose and Zoee Strohecker, and back row, Commissioner Michael Whiting, Caleb Stene, Commissioner Ron Maez and Commissioner Steve Wadley.