55.4 F
Pagosa Springs
Tuesday, September 21, 2021

What’s up in August: online and telephone gatherings

By Cheryl Wilkinson
PREVIEW Columnist

For August, we’ve selected some programs that might pique your interest. There are dozens more to choose from. You can find the topics list for August and link to Mather from our website at www.psseniors.org/.

There is no need to register in advance. You join by calling a toll-free phone number or by logging into a Zoom meeting at the program start time. All offerings are free. You can see on the site when you go to get link-in information whether the program is live Zoom or a live call.

• “Yoga for Hands,” Thursday, Aug. 5, 12:30 p.m. PT, 2:30 p.m. CT, 3:30 p.m. ET. Heidi Parkes, certified yoga therapist leads a combination of hand massage and hand movements.

• “Fit around the House”, Randi Kant, MS, MPH, CHES, CWP, CPT, certified intrinsic coach. Friday, Aug. 6, 9 a.m. PT , 11 a.m. CT, noon ET. Learn specific movements to gain lasting benefits that include maintaining functionality and independence.

• “Seven Happiness Lessons and Four Steps to Get There,” Kate Marrs, presenter. Tuesday, Aug. 10, 9 a.m. PT, 11 a.m. CT, noon ET. Learn the secrets of happiness from the teachings of renowned professor, author, and speaker Tal Ben-Shahar.

• “Coloring and Conversation,” Vivian Visser, presenter. Thursday, Aug. 19, 9 a.m. PT, 11 a.m. CT, noon ET. Use materials you have on hand and unwind while we enjoy coloring and conversation.

• “Keys to Controlling Diabetes,” Randi Kant, MS, MPH, CHES, CWP, CPT, certified intrinsic coach. Aug. 23, 7:30 a.m. PT , 9:30 a.m. CT, 10:30 a.m. ET. Join this discussion on diabetes and learn some of the keys to confidently manage it.

• “Audrey Hepburn,” Rich Lang, media historian. Aug. 25, 2 p.m. PT, 4 p.m. CT, 5 p.m. ET. Lang will discuss the life and career of this British actress and humanitarian.

• “Claude Monet: His Life and Work,” Casey Pax, Mather. Aug. 26, 9 a.m. PT, 11 a.m. CT, noon ET. Learn about his sources of inspiration, his process and his extraordinary life through an exploration of some of his most famous paintings.

In addition to linking to the Mather sessions, our website provides caregiver resources and information about ASI programs in Archuleta County, as well as contact information for making reservations at The Community Café for take-out and for Meals on Wheels at: http://www.psseniors.org/.

Volunteers

The Community Café in the Pagosa Springs Senior Center is requesting volunteers to help with the lunch desk. Please call (970) 264-2167 to volunteer or for more information.

Meals on Wheels
volunteers needed

The Senior Center Meals on Wheels program delivers approximately 3,000 fresh and frozen meals a year. We deliver fresh Meals on Wheels five days a week (and provide frozen Meals on Wheels for weekends) to homebound Archuleta County residents to help them stay healthy and independent in their own homes. 

This program is vitally important because many seniors have little to no access to nutritious meals. They are often too frail or have health complications that prevent them from preparing meals for themselves or from using the Senior Center’s Community Café drive-thru meals pick-up site Monday though Friday. 

The Senior Center needs volunteer Meals on Wheels Drivers for one day a week (or become part of our substitute driver team). Please join us as part of our driver team and build wonderful relationships with the seniors in our community. Call (970) 264-2167.

Dishes and china

Have old dishes or china that you no longer want to use or store? The Community Café is accepting donations of old dishes or china. Please call (970) 264-2167 for more information or to donate.

Take-out meals continue at Senior Center

In order to continue providing meals, the Senior Center is offering take-out hot meals and a salad with a drive-up option under the portico at the Ross Aragon Community Center. 

These meals will be available Monday through Friday between 11 a.m. and 1 p.m. There is a $4 suggested donation for lunch for those age 60 and better. If you need to have your meal delivered, please call (970) 264-2167 to see if this option is available in your area. 

The cost per meal for the public age 59 and under is $8.50. The meals include a salad, hot meal, drink and dessert or bread. 

Please call (970) 264-2167 to make a reservation for pickup. We are also continuing our Meals on Wheels program. 

There will be no games, classes or presentations during this time. The staff will be available by phone. If you need to speak to a staff member, please call (970) 264-2167.

Community Café menu

Thursday, Aug. 5 — Spaghetti with meat sauce, green beans with almonds, garlic bread, milk and salad.

Friday, Aug. 6 — Moroccan stew, roasted cauliflower, naan bread, milk and salad.

Monday Aug. 9 — Ham and cheese croissant, macaroni salad, milk, salad and German chocolate cake.

Tuesday, Aug. 10 — Baked salmon with dill cream sauce, wilted spinach, milk, salad and strawberries Romanoff.

Wednesday, Aug. 11 — Beef stew, bacon green beans, biscuit with butter, milk and salad.

Thursday, Aug. 12 — Spinach and mushroom quiche, sauteed zucchini, tomatoes and onions, milk, salad and lemon cream cake.

Reservations and cancellations are required. You can make a reservation at (970) 264-2167 by 9 a.m. the morning of the day you would like to drive through and pick up a meal. 

For your convenience, you can make your reservations in advance or have a standing reservation on days you know you will always pick up. Please cancel if you cannot attend on your standing reservation days. We want to thank everyone for their support by observing our reservation policy. This helps ensure that everyone with reservations receives a meal and enables us to provide additional and healthier meals.

Due to COVID-19, food supplies have been affected. Substitutions will be made accordingly.

Related Articles

- Advertisement -

Latest Articles