Bookmark and Share

Water conservancy district accepting director applications

The San Juan Water Conservancy District (SJWCD) will have a face change at the end of this coming March as three board directors’ terms expire on March 21.

Board directors Pat Ulrich, Karen Wessels and current board president Diane Bower will have come to the end of their terms. These vacancies come in addition to the one left by Harold Slavinski, whose term expired at the end of last November.

The 10-member board has had two vacant chairs for several years; with the departure of Slavinski and another three additional vacant chairs, the board will be down to four directors. Board secretary Jack Delange says it has been several years since the SJWCD has had a full board.

Current secretary Carrie Weiss’ term will expire Jan. 6, 2013; the terms of Jack Delange, Windsor Chacey and Larry Ash will expire March 21, 2014.

SJWCD formed in 1988 as a Title 29 special district. According to state statute, each board member serves a four-year term. The directors are not term limited, thus all are free to apply to be appointed for additional four-year terms. According to Delange, it is still unknown whether any of the board directors will reapply to serve an additional term.

As of today, Jan. 26, the SJWCD will accept applications until Feb. 20. The SJWCD Notice of Acceptance of Applications to Serve as Director of San Juan Water Conservancy District states, “To Be considered, you must have resided within the District for one year, must be the owner of real property within the District in Archuleta County, and must be knowledgable in water matters.” The notice continues, stating that applications are being accepted on an at-large basis to achieve a geographical representation of the district.

SJWCD will know in February which individuals applied for positions. For those who do apply, Delange said that he cannot recall anyone who applied being rejected. For the board of directors to take such action, a letter must be written to Judge Gregory Lyman, judge for Pagosa’s Water Court division.

For those interested, resumes detailing qualifications should be mailed to: Archuleta County District Court, Archuleta County Courthouse, P.O. Box 148, Pagosa Springs, CO 81147.

blog comments powered by Disqus