Bookmark and Share

Pirate boys win IML title, track team at state today

Last weekend, the Pirate boys’ track team took first place at the Intermountain League meet, beating Alamosa by two points on the basis of a performance in the last event of the competition.

“The boys really came through and surprised me,” Coach Scott White said.

Not only that, but White said the girls’ team held strong to take second place in the league meet.

Overall, 22 members of the Pirate team qualified for state 3A competition this week, quite the accomplishment with a more severe, strict ranking system determining entries this year.

“Right now, our boys 4x800 relay (Zerek Jones, Zach Lucero, Kain Lucero and Carlos Brinkman) is second in the state ranking, and I think there is a chance we could be state champions,” White said.

He added that both the girls’ and the boys’ 4x400 relay teams are going to be tough competitors; both, he thinks, will drop time and rise in the rankings.

“It’s been a great year and I’m really excited,” White said. Jumpers, runners, throwers and coaches alike are excited, but also focused on giving it their all at the state meet.

Pirate boys broke two IML records last week at Bayfield. Senior Zach Lucero ran the 800 meters in less than two minutes — at one minute and 59.83 seconds. The boys’ 4x400 meter relay (Jones, Matt Baker, Daniel Puskas and Zach Lucero) also broke IML record, at 3:29.31.

Pirate girls broke one IML record. The 4X400 relay team (Gabby Pajak, Danielle Pajak, Toni Stoll and Kelsy Sellers) finished at 4:14.28.

A number of Pirate boys, other than Lucero and the 4x400 relay took first place in events at the league meet.

Junior Zerek Jones placed first in the 400, at 50.53.

The 4x200 relay team (Dakota Miller, Jones, Baker and Puskas) won with a time of 1:34.03.

Freshman Mason Chronowski tied for first in high jump with a leap of 5 feet, 10 inches.

Daniel Puskas, a junior, won the long jump with a distance of 19-6.5. Puskas also took third in the 400 with a time of 52.36.

Senior Garrett Stoll placed first in triple jump, at 40-10.

Second place finishes included:

Matt Baker, second in the 400, at 52.26.

Kain Lucero, a sophomore, second in the 800, at 2:10.17.

Junior Carlos Brinkman second in the 1,600 (4:47.66) and the 3,200 (10:24.41.

Dean Hampton, a sophomore, second in triple jump, with a distance of 38-6.

Stoll took second in long jump, at 18-6.5.

In girls’ competition, the Pirates placed first in five events beside the 4x400 relay.

Sophomore Gabby Pajak was first in the 100 hurdles with a time of 16.38. Pajak also placed first in long jump with a distance of 17-1.75.

Toni Stoll, a sophomore, was first in triple jump, at 35-9.75.

Freshman Taylor Strohecker won the high jump, leaping 5-2.

The 4x800 relay team (Danielle Pajak, Sellers, Dana Danielson and Emily Bryant) crossed the line in first, at 10:12.45.

Placing second in events were:

Danielle Pajak, a senior, in the 400 (1:00.76).

Bryant, a freshman, in the 800 (2:33.81) and the 1,600 (5:50.91).

Magan Kraetsch in high jump at 4-10.

Stoll in Long jump, at 16-3.5.

Gabby Pajak in triple jump, at 35-3.75.

Stoll took third in the 100 hurdles with a time of 17.30, the 4x200 relay team was third (1:59.67) and Katie Armbrecht was third in javelin (a non-sanctioned event) with a throw of 96-8.

The following Pirates have qualified during the season and will compete at the state Class 3A meet in Denver today through Saturday.


Dakota Miller — 4X200.

Zerek Jones — 4X200, 4X400, 4X800, 400.

Matt Baker — 4X200, 4X400, 400.

Daniel Puskas — 4X200, 4X400, 400M, long jump.

Zach Lucero — 4X400, 4X800, 800.

Kain Lucero — 4X800.

Carlos Brinkmann — 4X800, 3,200.

Garrett Stoll — triple jump.


Gabby Pajak — 100 hurdles, 4X400, long jump, triple jump.

Danielle Pajak — 400, 4X400, 4X800.

Toni Stoll — 100 hurdles, 4X400, long jump, triple jump.

Kelsy Sellers — 4X400, 4X800.

Dana Danielson — 4X800.

Emily Bryant — 4X800.

Taylor Strohecker — high jump.

Magan Kraetch — high jump.

Brooklynn DuCharme — discus.

Relay alternates are Garek Erskine, Colton Polezynski, Dane Murdock, Mele Lelievre and Armbrecht.

blog comments powered by Disqus