Bookmark and Share

Chamber announces 2011 board candidates

The current Chamber Board of Directors has announced the slate of board candidates for election to the board for 2011-2013.

Every year, three board members exit and three new members come on to the board. Each year, six candidates are selected or self-nominated, all Chamber members. The board seeks candidates who represent the full range of the membership so as to bring diversity to the board. From these six candidates, three members are selected by the membership to serve a three-year term.

The candidates this year are: Pam Barsanti-Prudential Real Estate; Jennifer Burck-Wind Wranglers Balloon Company; Mark Monaco-Liberty Theatre; Bob Moomaw-associate member; Todd Stevens-Alley House Grille/Farrago Market Cafe; and Aurora Wright-Mud Shavers Car Wash. Each candidate or their business has been a Chamber member in good standing for at least one year.

With the announcement of this slate of candidates, any member who is in good standing and did not self-nominate can choose to gain a position on the slate of candidates by petitioning the board. A letter of intent must be filled out, including the member’s qualifications. They must also obtain 25 signatures from valid Chamber members — one per business. The petitioner has 10 days to fulfill these requirements. Petitions must be turned into the Chamber executive director by noon on Monday, Nov. 29.

Leaving the current board will be Brent Christians-Galles Properties; Steve Kuhlman-Boss Hoggs; and Todd Starr-Archuleta County. These board members have devoted a lot of time toward the improvement of Chamber services, participated in special events, and contributed their business acumen to the betterment of the organization. We can’t thank them enough for all their time and talent.

If there are any questions, contact Mary Jo at 264-2360.