Bookmark and Share

Emergency Food and Shelter Program funding for Archuleta County

Archuleta County’s Emergency Food and Shelter Program has been awarded $6,869 in federal FEMA funds for 2010.

The local board is excited to receive continuing emergency funds to support local efforts.

The selection was made by a National Board chaired by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s Federal Emergency Management Agency and consisting of representatives from American Red Cross; Catholic Charities, USA; National Council of the Churches of Christ in the U.S.A.; The Salvation Army; United Jewish Communities; and United Way of America.

The local board is made up of Barbara Hendricks, Department of Human Services; Cindy Shenk, American Red Cross; Richard Wholf, United Jewish Communities; Karol Jackson, United Methodist Church; Cody Wilson, United Way of Archuleta County; Drew Harbison, Salvation Army; Carlos Alvarez, Catholic Charities; Deni Blaisch; Ashley Souza, Department of Human Services, Rev. Douglas Neel, St. Patrick’s Episcopal Church; Carmen Hubbs, Archuleta County Victims Assistance Program; Bruce Stephens, Centerpoint Church; Bunk Preuit, La Plata Electric Round Up Foundation; and Tom Riedberger, Grace Evangelical Free Church.

The board will determine how the funds awarded to Archuleta County are to be distributed among the emergency food and shelter programs run by local service agencies in the area. The local board is responsible for recommending agencies to receive these funds and any additional funds available under this phase of the program.

Under the terms of the grant from the national board, local agencies chosen to receive funds must: 1) be private, voluntary non-profits or units of government; 2) be eligible to receive funds; 3) have an accounting system; 4) practice nondiscrimination; 5) have demonstrated the capability to deliver emergency food and/or shelter programs; and 6) if they are private voluntary organization, they must have a voluntary board.

Qualifying agencies are urged to apply.

Contact Barbara Hendricks or Ashley Souza at the Department of Human Services, P.O. Box 240 (or 551 Hot Springs Blvd.), Pagosa Springs CO 81147.

Applications are available at the Department of Human Services office at Town Hall.

Application deadline is March 24.