Bookmark and Share

Five local districts cancel May 4 elections

As of a March 2 statutory deadline, five area special districts have cancelled regular elections initially scheduled for May 4.

The cancellations are the results of having only as many announced candidates as offices to be filled.

The districts are located in whole, or in part, in Archuleta County and include the Pagosa Fire Protection District, Upper San Juan Health Service District, San Juan River Village Metropolitan District, San Juan Conservation District and the Los Pinos Fire Protection District. The health district actually encompasses portions of Archuleta, Hinsdale and Mineral counties.

According to a notice issued by Pagosa Fire Protection District Designated Election Official Diane C. Bower, at the close of business on the 63rd day prior to the May 4 election, “ ... there were not more candidates for director than offices to be filled, including candidates filing affidavits of intent to be write-in candidates; therefore, the election to be held on May 4, 2010, is hereby cancelled pursuant to Section 1-5-208(1.5), C.R.S (Colorado Revised Statutes).”

With three director seats up for election, and John J. Weiss, David F. Blake and Taro Hill being the only candidates running, Bower’s notice also declared them officially elected to serve four-year terms.

As the designated election official for the health district, Richard Babillis offered a similar notice, which cancelled that district’s May 4 election and officially declared Mark B. Floyd, Neal F. Townsend and Ann Michelle Visel elected to four-year terms.

Acting as the designated election official for both the San Juan River Village Metropolitan District and San Juan Conservation District, Cynthia Purcell issued similar notices declaring their May 4 elections cancelled.

With three candidates vying for just three seats on the San Juan River Village Metropolitan District, Purcell officially declared Scott Kay and Carrie Wienckowski elected to four-year terms, and Jeremy Bonin elected to a two-year term.

While canceling the San Juan Conservation District May 4 election, Purcell also declared John Taylor and Ann Shepherdson officially elected to serve four-year terms there.

Likewise, Designated Election Official Larry Behrens formally cancelled the Los Pinos Fire Protection District May 4 election, and officially declared Raymond H. Larsen and Mark D. Williams elected to that district’s two director vacancies. Both will serve four-year terms.

Through formal proclamation, each election official cited 1-5-208(1.5) C.R.S. as the legal premise for his or her actions, while all but the health district official have avowed publication of a legal notice in the “Public Notices” section of this week’s SUN. The health district notice will appear in the March 18 edition of The SUN.