Destination Imagination to raise travel funds at Mother’s Day bake sale

The Pagosa Imaginators 4 will return to the Global Destination Imagination Tournament at the University of Tennessee on May 18.

These seven ambitious students are reaching out to the community to support their travel plans. The Imaginators will host a Mother’s Day bake sale Saturday, May 9, at Uptown City Market from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m

Destination Imagination, an annual interdisciplinary competition, teaches creative problem solving across all academic content areas. The Pagosa Springs school district supported seven DI teams this year. Four teams of talented young Pagosans won the Southwest Colorado Regional Tournament and advanced to the State Tournament, where over 200 teams competed for a berth to Globals.

The Imaginators 4 won the opportunity to return to the Global Tournament and compete with teams from across the United States and around the world.

They invite Pagosa’s service and civic organizations, businesses and any interested individuals to contribute to this effort. Despite ongoing support within our school district, community involvement will insure the continuation of this invaluable experience for Pagosa’s youth.

The public is invited to meet the DI teams that qualified for the Colorado State Tournament at the May 12 school board meeting at 6 p.m. in the Pagosa Springs Junior High School Library. The DI Nerds, the Xtreme Menagerie of Minds, The Gala-Pagosa Turtles and the Imaginators 4 will be recognized by the board for their outstanding accomplishments.

Contributions can be made directly to the Imaginators 4, all eighth- or ninth-graders, at the junior high office.

Checks should be made out to Pagosa DI c/o Archuleta County Schools.

Remember the Mother’s Day bake sale Saturday. Support this amazing project for Pagosa youngsters and take home fresh baked goodies for mom.

Photo courtesy Julia Hampton
You better bee-lieve it! The Imaginators 4 are on their way to the Global Destination Tournament. They are Isaiah Thompson, Dean Hampton, Garek Erskine, Brooke Hampton, Brandan Thomas, Kitman Gill and Gabby Pajak.