BoCC to interview candidates for planning commission

The Archuleta County Board of County Commissioners (BoCC) will begin interviews next week for appointees to a new planning commission.

According to county staff, each candidate will undergo three interviews — one with each commissioner.

Archuleta County Commissioner John Ranson said he anticipated final selections being made either during a special meeting March 24, or during the board’s regular meeting April 7.

Per board decision Feb. 3, the new planning commission will consist of five members and two non-voting alternates — one of which will be a BoCC member or their designee. The previous board consisted of seven members.

The interview and selection process stems from the board’s Jan. 22 wholesale ouster of the former planning commission.

The board has said the removal of the former planning commission was necessary to address changing times, and was part of a larger restructuring process that could ultimately yield a merger between the town and county building and planning departments.

While the previous planning commissioners were invited to reapply, none have.

The candidates are listed below in alphabetical order.

• Daniel C. Aupperle, M.B.A., president of Citizens Bank, former planning commission member.

• Bradley Benz, M.A. applied geography (GIS), mechanical engineer, oil and gas, residential development.

• Lynda Carter, attorney, land use and affordable housing,.

• Kirk England, president/principal Titan CMX701, former corporate vice president design and construction, Harrah’s Entertainment.

• Michael Fite, project engineer/associate, MLF Engineering.

• Robert Hart, chairman, builders association and Town Tourism Committee, member of Town Land Use Code Revision Committee.

• Jeff M. Jones, owner Jones Mechanical and Jones Investment Properties, LLC, 30 years in construction, former member Pagosa Springs Town Board and Archuleta County Planning Commission.

• Mary Portlock, B.S. leisure, recreation and gerontology, former Realtor.

• Steve Van Horn, owner of Great Divide Title, Inc.

• Michael Whiting, executive director Southwest Land Alliance, chairman Parks Recreation, Open Space and Trails Task Force (PROST), member of Town Land Use Code Revision Committee.